Book Blitz, Book It, Book Teasers, New Release

Book Blitz: The Redpoint Crux

The Redpoint Crux by Morgan Shamy
The Redpoint Crux by Morgan Shamy
The Redpoint Crux by Morgan Shamy

Title: The Redpoint Crux
Author: Morgan Shamy
Genre: Gothic Fiction
Release Date:
09 June 2020

Summary:

“Dark and achingly beautiful, The Redpoint Crux will break your heart then make you whole again. Shamy is a true storyteller with a gift for weaving wounded characters with twisting plots and a gorgeous, haunting world.” —Evelyn Skye, New York Times bestselling author of The Crown’s Game 

“An addictive mystery woven into a tapestry of lush theatre and ballet lore.” —Wendy Higgins, New York Times Bestselling Author

Fans of The Phantom of the Opera and Black Swan will enjoy this thrilling debut.

When Megan Van Helsburg gets kicked off the U.S.A. Climbing Team, she has no choice but to return home and leave her climbing career behind. With no coach, no money, and no prospects, she joins the corps de ballet determined to improve her strength and agility. But the ballet theater is in dire straits. Not only do a series of murders break loose, but the ballerinas are becoming deathly thin and brain-dead. As Megan investigates, she meets Bellamy, a tortured young man who lives beneath the depths of the theater. Megan falls hard and fast for Bellamy, who becomes her mentor, but something is off about him.

It isn’t until the company announces they’re doing Giselle for the fall performance that Megan realizes the parallels between the ghost story and the lives around her. Megan must find a way to not only save her climbing career, but balance her feelings for Bellamy, and stop the murders and dying girls before she, too, is numbered among the dead.


The Redpoint Crux by Morgan Shamy
steal and share this

The Redpoint Crux Excerpt:

Bellamy drew Red close, wrapping one arm around her back. 

“What are you doing?” Red hissed. 

His eye caught hers. “Dancing with the one I want to dance with.”

“This isn’t the story. We can’t do this.”

“I don’t care.” Red opened her mouth to argue again, but Bellamy stopped her. “I thought I could dance the part of Prince Albrecht, but I can’t. I can’t dance with anyone but you.”

“But…I’m supposed to be killing you,” she whispered. “Dancing you to your death.” 

“Well then, dance me to my death.” 

Bellamy lifted Red up, her leg stretched out behind her, pulling her in next to him as he gently circled her around. She brought her leg forward, rotated it out to the side, and spun into a series of turns, his hands around her waist. Her white tutu fluttered. She paused. Their faces were inches apart, the music soaring around them. 

Red allowed herself to fall into the choreography, even though everything in her screamed to stop. This was wrong. She needed to stop this. She needed to be looking for Nathan’s murderer. She needed to avenge her father’s death. But Red couldn’t help herself. She relaxed further into the steps, and everything that had passed between them during the past few weeks rushed forward. Everything melted away except for her and Bellamy. 

“I can’t take it anymore,” Red whispered. “This back and forth. You care, and then you don’t care. I can trust you, and then I can’t trust you. Which is it?” 

“You can trust that I care more than you’ll ever know,” he said, voice low. Red sighed as she dipped down again. 

The Redpoint Crux by Morgan Shamy
steal and share this

About Morgan Shamy:

Morgan Shamy
Morgan Shamy

Morgan Shamy is an ex-ballerina turned YA writer. She is represented by Kelly Peterson of Rees Literary Agency.

Morgan has been immersed in the arts since the young age of 4, where she trained under the tutelage of Julie and Stacey Orlob. She performed various roles alongside a professional ballet company for over seven years, and has danced on prestigious stages like soloing at Carnegie Hall in New York City.

She has taught hundreds of girls in her fifteen years of teaching, where some of her students have received full-ride scholarships to schools like School of American Ballet, the Harid Conservatory, Kirov Academy of Ballet, and Pacific Northwest Ballet, to name a few.

Morgan discovered writing when her three-year-old son was diagnosed with cancer. It was through that experience which instilled the need to share art and magic with children through words on the page.

Morgan is also an accomplished concert pianist. She was the first girl in Utah to receive the 75 pt. Gold Cup in the Utah Federation of Music in piano solo/concerto competition. Morgan currently lives with her X-Games gold-medalist husband and four children in the cold mountains of Alaska.

Connect with Author:

Website | Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | BookBub | Amazon

Facebook Comments