Book It, Book Reviews, New Release

Book Review: The Redpoint Crux by Morgan Shamy

The Redpoint Crux by Morgan Shamy
The Redpoint Crux by Morgan Shamy

Title: The Redpoint Crux
Author: Morgan Shamy
Genre: Gothic Fiction

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This book isn’t for me. How do I know? Because I read it and it bored me to tears. 20% in I almost DNF’ed it, but I stuck with it only to skim through the remainder of the book reading it in chunks. Nothing much happens.

The book starts with two disjointed tales; one is Megan Tucker’s in Colorado, and the other is Liam Reynolds and the Theater Company in Nova Scotia–two teenage rebels who are grabbing the world with both hands. Megan ‘Red’ Tucker is a ballerina gone mountain climber well off the beaten path. Liam is a prodigal son who has come back to claim his family’s legacy. But nothing much happens chapter after chapter to advance the story but monotonous exposition and reiteration.

While flipping through later chapters into the mystery, there isn’t any increase in tensions. The entire book maintains a mellowness that isn’t something I can sit through. I need action, and I didn’t feel like there was anything impactful or compelling. The story puttered along at one lowkey speed.

I didn’t find this easy to read. I often fell asleep reading it. I don’t recommend this for gothic fiction fans because it lacks the psychological aspects of a great gothic read.

I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary advance copy of this book.


The Redpoint Crux by Morgan Shamy
steal and share this

Title: The Redpoint Crux
Author: Morgan Shamy
Genre: Gothic Fiction
Release Date:
09 June 2020

Summary:

“Dark and achingly beautiful, The Redpoint Crux will break your heart then make you whole again. Shamy is a true storyteller with a gift for weaving wounded characters with twisting plots and a gorgeous, haunting world.” —Evelyn Skye, New York Times bestselling author of The Crown’s Game 

“An addictive mystery woven into a tapestry of lush theatre and ballet lore.” —Wendy Higgins, New York Times Bestselling Author

Fans of The Phantom of the Opera and Black Swan will enjoy this thrilling debut.

When Megan Van Helsburg gets kicked off the U.S.A. Climbing Team, she has no choice but to return home and leave her climbing career behind. With no coach, no money, and no prospects, she joins the corps de ballet determined to improve her strength and agility. But the ballet theater is in dire straits. Not only do a series of murders break loose, but the ballerinas are becoming deathly thin and brain-dead. As Megan investigates, she meets Bellamy, a tortured young man who lives beneath the depths of the theater. Megan falls hard and fast for Bellamy, who becomes her mentor, but something is off about him.

It isn’t until the company announces they’re doing Giselle for the fall performance that Megan realizes the parallels between the ghost story and the lives around her. Megan must find a way to not only save her climbing career, but balance her feelings for Bellamy, and stop the murders and dying girls before she, too, is numbered among the dead.


About Morgan Shamy:

Morgan Shamy
Morgan Shamy

Morgan Shamy is an ex-ballerina turned YA writer. She is represented by Kelly Peterson of Rees Literary Agency.

Morgan has been immersed in the arts since the young age of 4, where she trained under the tutelage of Julie and Stacey Orlob. She performed various roles alongside a professional ballet company for over seven years, and has danced on prestigious stages like soloing at Carnegie Hall in New York City.

She has taught hundreds of girls in her fifteen years of teaching, where some of her students have received full-ride scholarships to schools like School of American Ballet, the Harid Conservatory, Kirov Academy of Ballet, and Pacific Northwest Ballet, to name a few.

Morgan discovered writing when her three-year-old son was diagnosed with cancer. It was through that experience which instilled the need to share art and magic with children through words on the page.

Morgan is also an accomplished concert pianist. She was the first girl in Utah to receive the 75 pt. Gold Cup in the Utah Federation of Music in piano solo/concerto competition. Morgan currently lives with her X-Games gold-medalist husband and four children in the cold mountains of Alaska.

Connect with Author:

Website | Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | BookBub | Amazon


Facebook Comments